The International Society of Automation (ISA) has announced the 2022 ISA Celebrating Excellence award recipients. The ISA honors and awards program is the Society’s opportunity to formally showcase and celebrate the remarkable achievements and contributions of its members, partners, and other automation professionals.

The Celebrating Excellence awards endeavors to stimulate, enhance, encourage, acknowledge, and reward outstanding contributions to our society and the automation profession by providing an avenue for individuals to compete for recognition within established categories. The Honors & Awards Committee annually receives all award nominations for defined Society awards, reviews the candidate qualifications, and recommends to the Executive Board honorees for approval.

Congratulations to our 2022 awardees for their outstanding achievement—a recognition well deserved!

2022 Celebrating Excellence Honorees

Excellence in Technical Innovation, Endowed by Honeywell UOP

Uday Sheorey

Nagpur, Maharashtra, IN

For the design and development of a high-resolution micro tool for retinal surgery procedures

Excellence in Corporate Technical Innovation

BBA Canada

Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, CA

For the development of a new technology which auto converted existing camera feed into a sensor using computer vision and artificial intelligence

Excellence in Technical Presentation

Brad Carlberg

Hoodsport, Washington, US

For an outstanding article entitled The Autonomous Mill: Utilizing Digital Twins to Optimize the Pulp & Paper Mill of the Future

Excellence in Education

Cesar de Prada Moraga

Universidad De Valladolid, Valladolid, ES

For the development of CAD software, for teaching purposes, that has been used in various universities in Spain

Mentoring Excellence

Richard Tunstall

Lee College, Baytown, Texas, US

For his excellence in mentoring students and young professionals

Excellence in Enduring Service

Mary Cannon

Houston, Texas, US

For years of dedicated service and leadership to the Society and the ISA Houston Section

Philip Evans

Calgary, Alberta, CA

For years of dedicated service and leadership to the Society and the ISA Calgary Section

Excellence in Society Service

Jose Salinas

Mexico City, MX

For his distinguished and dedicated volunteer service to the Society

Division Excellence

Water and Wastewater Industries Division

Division Leader Excellence

Simon Lucchini

Director, Safety and Security Industries Division

Calgary, Alberta, CA

For his outstanding efforts and contributions as a Division Director for the Safety and Security Industries Division

Section Excellence

Spain Section

Section Leader Excellence

Hanumant Pansare

Pune Section President

Pune, Maharashtra, IN

For outstanding efforts to increase the membership for the Pune section, who won the 2021 President’s Membership Challenge

Standards Excellence

Angela Summers

Houston, Texas, US

For dedication in the development of ISA standards and technical reports related to Safety Instrumented Systems (SIS)

Volunteer Leader of the Year

Bradley Churchman

Katy, Texas, US

For outstanding service and leadership to the Houston section